Our Leadership

Executive Director

Britton Banowsky was named the first Executive Director of the College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation in July 2015. He leads the organization’s philanthropic initiative, as well as its capstone project, Extra Yard for Teachers (EYFT).

As the charitable arm of the College Football Playoff, the CFP Foundation aims to make an impact off the field in communities touched by the playoff system and across the country. As executive director, Banowsky’s role includes enhancing the Foundation, as well as building sustainability for the program.

Prior to his role with the CFP Foundation, Banowsky served as commissioner of Conference USA for 13 years and was a member of the CFP Board of Directors. A licensed attorney, Banowsky was general counsel for the Big 12 Conference for six years. From 1993 - 1996, he was commissioner of the Southland Conference.

Outside of the CFP Foundation, Banowsky has been involved with many public service programs in Dallas. He served on the Dallas Mayor’s Task Force on Poverty, is one of three officers of a new nonprofit to transform neighborhoods in Dallas, has been president of the Heart of Dallas, and chaired the Dallas Commission on Homelessness.

Born in Los Angeles, he is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma, where he earned both a business and a law degree. Banowsky and his wife, Cindy, have three children: Kendall, Brit and Wade, as well as a granddaughter, Cora. 


The CFP Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors, which includes the commissioners of the ten FBS Conferences and the athletics director at the University of Notre Dame. In addition, the Executive Director, Chief Operating Officer, and Chief Financial Officer of College Football Playoff serve as officers of the Foundation. 

Mike Aresco – Commissioner (American Athletic)

Karl Benson – Commissioner (Sun Belt)

Bob Bowlsby – Commissioner (Big 12)*

Jim Delany  – Commissioner (Big Ten)

Judy MacLeod - Commissioner (C-USA)

Greg Sankey - Commissioner (SEC)

Larry Scott – Commissioner (Pac-12)

Jon Steinbrecher – Commissioner (MAC)

Jack Swarbrick – Athletics Director (Notre Dame)*

John Swofford – Commissioner (ACC)

Craig Thompson – Commissioner (Mountain West)*

*Serves on the 2016-2017 CFP Philanthropy Committee


Bill Hancock – Executive Director (College Football Playoff)

Michael Kelly – Chief Operating Officer (College Football Playoff)

Reid Sigmon – Chief Financial Officer (College Football Playoff)