presented by dr pepper


Page 32 photo.jpg

Recognizing the leaders in education on the largest platform in college football.

The Teacher of the Year Championship Experience, presented by Dr Pepper, is a program that has been developed by the CFP Foundation in coordination with the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO).

During the weekend leading up to the national championship game, the 56 State Teachers of the Year are honored guests at CFP Foundation events including the Extra Yard 5K and Eckrich Taste of the Championship. In addition, the teachers are treated to VIP hospitality at the Playoff Playlist Live! concert series and Championship Tailgate events. As the pinnacle of the weekend, the teachers are recognized on-field at the national championship game in celebration of their superb effort and dedication to the teaching profession.


The Extra Yard for Teachers Summit is an annual event designed to empower and inspire educators. Join us on Saturday, January 11, 2020 in New Orleans for this year’s celebration. Be among the hundreds of teachers welcomed by the College Football Playoff Foundation and its partners in advance of the National Championship.

This year’s Summit will serve as a space for local and national educators and their guests to relax, learn and win. The event is a stage show featuring incredibly speakers and performers who are all there to share their wisdom and learnings with you: the audience! Past speakers have included former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, founder Charles Best, Grammy-nominated singer Leon Bridges, and National Teacher of the Year-turned Representative Jahana Hayes.

Extra Yard for Teachers Summit

Saturday, January 11, 2020

3:30 PM Registration

4:00 PM Stage Show

6:00 PM Celebration

Attending the Summit is FREE. Registration is required and opens on September 28, 2019. Following the Summit, we are encouraging all the teachers to enjoy College Football Playoff’s free concert series, Playoff Playlist Live (more info coming soon)! Please share your interest in attending, and we’ll be in touch as soon as registration opens.

If you have a bold new idea or a unique take on traditional teaching strategies that would inspire fellow educators, please apply to share your ideas and experiences at the Summit! We are accepting ideas through October 31, 2019, and will announce the speakers on November 14, 2019.

In 2020, The College Football Playoff Foundation is headed to New Orleans.
Join us to support teachers! 

Mercedes-Benz Superdome (Kelley L. Cox).jpg